The Texas eviction process is simple if you know the key steps. What I find is most people read all the BAD internet pages that say you can give a three day notice to start the process and its all fine.
The problem is the three day notice only works IF your lease allows it and IF it is given properly. This is where our expertise comes to play. We know what to do, when to do it and how to make it happen.
Now some want to automatically pick up the phone and ask me the proper way. DON’T DO THAT. There is a series of steps that we have to know in order to know what “Proper” notice is for your situation. Each property is different because of leases, addendums, type of eviction and county.
Are you aware that all judges don’t practice the same eviction procedures? Each court has their on format and if you don’t meet it guess what? They kick you out! Some will say they have been to court and never had a problem and the judge was easy. That may be their situation, but I get hundreds of calls every year where an owner has been kicked out because of the way they delivered the notice, didn’t allow enough time or did something wrong.
My job is to do it the right way. If you are an owner that doesn’t want to deal with all the hassles or get in trouble by doing it the wrong way call me.
If you are an owner that has the time to do it yourself I can tell you what I personally do (not legal advice) and I charge $125.00 to cover my cost as a property management duty.
All court related cases boil down to knowledge. If you know what to do and what not to do the process becomes a habit. We have perfected our process so well that we believe we are the best around.
As the title says “Texas Eviction Process” I will give a brief outline of what happens.
- notice to vacate given to resident(s) (1-35 days required)
- If they fail to move by the expiration of the notice the eviction is filed with the JP court. A court date is then set.(7-28 days depending on court schedule. Most average about 12 days)
- attend court for the eviction hearing (1 to 3 hours depending on cases)
- if tenant fails to move (5-7 days) writ of possession is filed (1-4 days)
- constable comes to property and you provide movers and locksmith to remove all items. Different rules apply for HOA’s, constable guidelines etc.
- Possession is finally received.